The Effective Executive’s Talent Is Overrated

As I mentioned last time, I’m taking a brief hiatus from more in-depth posting. Instead, I’ll be dropping bits of wit and wisdom I’ve picked up throughout the years, either from people whom I greatly admire, or from my own travails.

This post’s title is based upon two hugely influential books I make sure to re-read periodically. They are:

The Effective Executive, by Peter Drucker
Talent Is Overrated
, by Geoff Colvin

Madeline Draws wm.jpg

Here are two life-changing (for me, anyway) quotes from each of these seminal works. I hope they impact you as profoundly as they have me.

Quote #1

The effective executive focuses on contribution. He looks up from his work and outward toward goals. He asks, “What can I contribute that will significantly affect the performance and the results of the institution I serve?” His stress is on responsibility. The focus on contribution is the key to effectiveness. (emphasis mine)

Quote #2

We’re all sure that talent exists, but that doesn’t mean we’ve really thought about it. Hardly any of us have done that. The notion is just part of our conception of the world, and it’s worth asking why.

The first encourages me to focus on serving, rather than being served – on the needs of others rather than my own needs.

The second causes me to question what so often leads us to not pursue something difficult – the common misconception that, “I’m just not talented in that area.”

Colvin goes on to make a case for deliberate practice, a topic about which a wealth of scientific and anecdotal data exists. It’s worth looking into, and it goes hand in hand with another important Drucker quote:

Effectiveness is a habit; that is, a complex of practices. And practices can always be learned.

Hopefully this will inspire you to read these wonderful works, to get more important things done, and to realize your potential.

Cheers!

Leave a comment